Army Air Corps Library and Museum Logo

V Bomber Command

Constituted as V Bomber Command on 28 Oct 1941. Activated in the Philippines on 14 Nov 1941. Participated in the defense of the Philippines in Dec 1941. Late in Dec the remaining bombers and some men were evacuated to Australia, and in Jan 1942 they were moved to Java to help delay the Japanese advance in the Netherlands Indies. The command ceased to function in Mar 1942 (the AAF bombardment organizations in the Southwest Pacific being under the control of American-British-Dutch-Australian Command and later Allied Air Forces). Headquarters was remanned in Sep 1942 and shortly afterward it assumed control of AAF bombardment groups in Australia and New Guinea. The command served in combat with Fifth AF until the end of the war. Brig Gen Kenneth N Walker, who was lost during a mission to Rabaul on 5 Jan 1943, was awarded the Medal of Honor; he had repeatedly taken part in combat missions and had developed an effective technique for bombing when opposed by enemy interceptors and antiaircraft fire. After the war the command became part of the occupation force for Japan. Inactivated on 31 May 1946. Disbanded on 8 Oct 1948.

Groups. 3d Bombardment: 1942-1946. 6th Reconnaissance: 1943. 7th Bombardment: 1942. 8th Fighter: 1942. 19th Bombardment: 1941-1942. 22d Bombardment: 1942-1945. 27th Bombardment: 1941-1942. 35th Fighter: 1945-1946. 38th Bombardment: 1942-1945. 43d Bombardment: 1942-1945. 49th Fighter: 1945-1946. 71st Reconnaissance: 1943. 90th Bombardment: 1942-1945. 312th Bombardment: 1944-1945. 345th Bombardment: 1943-1945. 380th Bombardment: 1943-1945. 417th Bombardment: 1944-1945.

Stations. Clark Field, Luzon, 14 Nov 1941; Darwin, Australia, Dec 1941; Java, Jan-Mar 1942; Townsville, Australia, 5 Sep 1942; Port Moresby, New Guinea, Dec 1942; Nadzab, New Guinea, 21 Feb 1944; Owl, Schouten Islands, c. 15 Aug 1944; Leyte, Nov 1944; Mindoro, Jan 1945; Clark Field, Luzon, Mar 1945; Okinawa, Aug 1945; Murayama, Japan, Oct 1945; Irumagawa, Japan, c. 15 Jan-31 May 1946.

Commanders. Col Eugene L Eubank, 14 Nov 1941-unkn; Brig Gen Kenneth N Walker, 5 Sep 1942; Brig Gen Howard K Ramey, Jan 1943; Brig Gen Roger M Ramey, 19 Apr 1943; Col John H Davies, Oct 1943; Brig Gen Jarred V Crabb, 27 Feb 1944-31 May 1946.

Campaigns. Philippine Islands; East Indies; Air Offensive, Japan; China Defensive; Papua; New Guinea; Northern Solomons; Bismarck Archipelago; Western Pacific; Leyte; Luzon; Southern Philippines; China Offensive.

Decorations. Distinguished Unit Citations: Philippine Islands, 8-22 Dec 1941; Philippine Islands, 7 Dec 1941-10 May 1942; Papua, [Sep] 1942-23 Jan 1943. Philippine Presidential Unit Citation.

Data from Air Force Combat Units of World War II By Maurer, Maurer, Published 1986

Museum Collection

   Arrow Kenneth Walker


Do you have items such as papers, photos, uniforms, gear and other artifacts? Read more about Supporting the AALCM.

Volunteers Needed

We need help with transcribing data. Personnel and group records to digital. Want to help? Contact Us

Servicemen Data

If you have any data on servicemen and units and would be like to add it to our digital library; please Contact Us